High-Profile Drivers Flock to Darwin for Hi-Tec Oils Super Series Blockbuster

A smorgasbord of high-profile drivers are preparing for a big trek to Darwin’s Hidden Valley Raceway for this weekend’s second round of the Hi-Tec Oils Super Series, headlined by the twin-driver “Kings of the North” event for the TA2 Muscle Car Series Framed by Hytek.


In addition to the international entry of American-based Aussie Nathan Herne and Kiwi Paul Manuell, other notable drivers confirmed for the world-first TA2 endurance race include Tickford Racing Supercars endurance driver Tyler Everingham (joining title contender Jackson Rice), TCR Australia race winner Jordan Cox (driving with Mark Crutcher) and experienced second-generation racer George Miedecke (partnering Hugh McAlister).

The South Australian-based MVA Racing team is yet to announce a co-driver for Round 1 winner and current series leader Lee Stibbs, but current Carrera Cup joint points leader Max Vidau will partner Brad Gartner.

The IES Motorsport squad has also recruited a pair of talented co-drivers, with the versatile Edan Thornburrow to team up with last year’s series runner-up Graham Cheney, and popular Touring Car Masters racer Andrew Fisher to share driving duties with Paul Hadley.

Dylan Thomas will be joined by long-time friend and Formula Vee rival Tim Brook, while second-generation racer George Miedecke – a veteran of V8 Utes, production cars, Supercars and GT racing along with finishing second in the 2019 TA2 series – will drive alongside fellow car dealer Hugh McAlister.

Former V8 Utes and Commodore Cup champ Marcus Zukanovic will co-drive with Matthew MacKelden, while another interesting name on the entry list is Nick Filipetto – while he has been out of the driver’s seat for a while, Filipetto has formerly shown strong form in Excels, Toyota 86s and Formula 3, and will no doubt adapt quickly to Chris Formosa’s Dodge Challenger.

After a top-five finish at Winton, Michael Coulter will team up with his dad Steve at Hidden Valley, while Canberra racers Josh Haynes and Nicholas Bates will drive together as they each aim to add strong points hauls to their 2023 campaigns.

The TA2 Muscle Car Series isn’t the only category with a two-driver format; the HQ Holden Crocodile Cup will also see a pair of drivers sharing each car, with a number of local Darwin drivers featuring on the entry list.

Among them, David Ling will team up with his son Steven, Gavin Thompson will join John Hill and Nick Halkitis will drive with Stavros Mostris. The HQ event has also attracted a number of interstate visitors including Luke Harrison/Shaun Boland (NSW) and a contingent of Victorians: Tony Moloney/Rob Braune, Richard Whyte/Michael Fitzgerald, Peter Brown, Phil Aitken and Ross Wood/Mark Brient.

In addition to the field of passionate Commodore Cup, Improved Production and Australian Super TT competitors who will race in the NAMSC Combined Sedans, the Hyundai Excel Dash for Cash has also attracted strong local support, with the likes of Zac Hannon, Lachlan Sohn, Samantha Hoskin and Noel Wallace all to take part.

The Hi-Tec Oils Super Series program will be rounded out by the Top End Drift Series.



Tickets for the event can be purchased online here


Broadcast details – Monday, 1 May

9:30am-12:30pm – Live streaming via Hi-Tec Oils Super Series Facebook page and website

1:00pm-4:00pm – Live television on SBS and Fox Sports/Kayo


Online Channels



Share this post