Photos by MS Media

Russell Wright and John McLaughlin have shared the spoils in the opening two races of the PROMAXX Performance Exhausts TA2 Muscle Car Series, held at the opening round of the 2020 Australian Motor Racing Series (AMRS) at Winton today.

Wright qualified on pole position, and held out McLaughlin in an enthralling Race 1 battle, albeit one which was interrupted by a Safety Car when Christopher Formosa crashed his Dodge Challenger at Turn 2. The duo resumed their hostilities in Race 2, with Wright again leading the way until he encountered the lapped car of Jason Hassett late in the race.

A mechanical problem for Hassett caused him to spin into the path of Wright; both cars retired on the spot and McLaughlin capitalised to take victory ahead of Murray Kent and Michael Kulig.
Driving his Chevrolet Oz Truck, Stephen Chilby qualified on pole position for the Thunder Sports Cup and led all the way in Race 1, to take a comprehensive victory ahead of reigning champion Mark Tracey (BMW E36). Queenslander Sam Collins finished in third position in his Nissan Silvia, ahead of Glen Postlethwaite and Cory Gillett, who was fortunate to start the race after a mechanical problem with his V8-powered Silvia in qualifying.

Damien Hunter won Class B, driving his four cylinder Renault Clio to a fine eighth outright.

Chad Cotton placed his Future Racer on pole for the Miniature Race Car Series and duly drove to a comfortable Race 1 win, crossing the finish line 16 seconds ahead of Craig White and BJ Lemon.

However, Cotton (blown engine) and White (broken axle) both retired from Race 2, allowing Blake Purdie to take the win ahead of Lemon and Matt Thewis, who engaged in an enthralling battle for much of the race.

Craig Lindsell was victorious in the opening 2 Litre Sports Sedan race aboard his Mini, taking the win ahead of Steve Howard (Toyota Corolla) and Vin McNair (Honda Prelude).

Howard took the ascendency in Race 2, and led home the Mini trio of Lindsell, Iain McDougall and Linda Devlin.

Ranald Maclurkin capitalised on some mechanical problems for polesitter John Hickey to win both Victorian Sedan Series races. Clint Henderson was second in Race 1 with Josh Dowell second in Race 2; Mark Sutherland was third in both races.

Share this post